About department

History
The activities of the department «Geophysical Methods of Searching and Exploration of Mineral Deposits» stand apart five basic steps: first - prehistory; second - formation; third - the rapid development; fourth - the crisis period; fifth - modern. 
 

Stage I. It begins with organization Kazakh Mining and Metallurgical Institute in 1934, in the beginning it consisted of one geological exploration faculty, combines the specialties: «Exploration of metallic and non-metallic deposits» и «Engineering hydrogeology».  


Significant progress of geophysical methods in geological prospecting works demanded the training of qualified specialists in exploration geophysics. Staff, graduated in those years by Moscow and Leningrad universities, did not satisfy the fast-growing geophysical industry of Kazakhstan.   The situation at the end of the 40s dictated the need to prepare own qualified geophysics engineer.
Stage II. In 1951, for the organization of the Department «Geophysical Methods of Searching and Exploration of Mineral Deposits» from the Dnepropetrovsk Mining Institute was invited candidate of geology and mineralogical sciences, docent Nepomnyashchikh А.А., specialist in the field of exploration geophysics, who has experience of pedagogical work in higher education. He had trained a large number of specialists in exploration geophysics, including candidates of science from among the Kazakhstan youth, some of them became doctors of sciences. 
Considerable attention in those years was given to physical and mathematical disciplines, which to a large extent which largely contributed to help of Mathematics Departments (docent Gorshin S.I.) and physics (Professor Gulnitsky L.V.). 


In the first years of the department «Geophysical Methods of Prospecting and Exploration of Mineral Deposits» were invited known experts from different regions of the USSR for the management of laboratories: docent Netunahin V.I. - electric survey, docent Masarsky S.I. – seismic survey, docent Borodulin B.G. – magnetic exploration, senior lecturer Antonov G.V. - gravity exploration. From 1961 was introduced special programming course (lecturer Koval L.A.).


In 1960, for the conduct course «seismic exploration» has been invited Tsvetkov D.V. - experienced specialist, one of the developers the first field seismic stations and organizer of the seismic surveys in the former USSR.


Invaluable assistance in equipping laboratories special apparatus and equipment (including seismic stations) had the department Kazakh Geophysical Trust, Guryev Geophysical bureau and other industrial organizations.


Simultaneously with the creation of the material and technical base of the department were  developed lecture courses, methodical maintenance of laboratory and practical works, course and diploma projects. 


The first graduation of Geophysical engineers held in 1954 of 41 specialist, which have proved in the production from the best side. 


At the end of 50-ies of the Geophysics Department fully developed as one of the leading in the former Soviet Union on the preparation geophysical staff. High requirements to students-geophysicists during the training period at the department allowed them to become production expert and organizers of the geophysical service of Kazakhstan.


Stage III. In 1960 Kazakh Mining and Metallurgical Institute was reorganized into the Kazakh Polytechnic Institute. From this time begins stage of the qualitative and quantitative growth of the Geophysics Department, which trained qualified geophysicists engineers of high qualification. 


By 1966 at the Geophysics Department employed 16 scientific staff, one of which is Professor –Doctor of sciences, eight docents and Candidate of Sciences, four Senior Lecturers and three assistant, functioned 7 laboratories and one cabinet.        


In 1966, due expansion of preparation geophysical staff in Kazakhstan on the basis of the Geophysical Department organized Geophysical Department faculty. Its first dean was appointed physical scientist M.G.Karimov, who did much for the establishment and successful development of new faculty composed Kazakh Polytechnic Institute. 


In 1976, Geophysical Faculty and Geophysics Department again became part of the geological exploration faculty.


During these years, the annual number of graduates of the department reached 60-70 people. They successfully fit into the production geophysical organizations; lot of them later became leaders and senior officials of production, headed the scientific research and project organizations, participated in the discovery of large deposits of hydrocarbons and solid mineral resources of Kazakhstan.
Stage IV. The collapse of the Soviet Union and the subsequent behind him economic chaos, limitations provided by the government for science and education resources have led to the loss of clear plans distribution of graduates, reduce the possibility of the acquisition of equipment, content the staff and teachers, etc.


Despite the some difficulties in the life of society, education at University started in the Kazakh and Russian languages. The staff of the department continued to strengthen. Famous scientists and organizers of production were invited.


Among them, doctor of Geology and Mineralogical Sciences, professor Tokish (Tolepbergen) Akishev - talented organizer of geophysical service in Kazakhstan, USSR State Prize Laureate (1985), who headed the department from 1992 until his death. T.Akisheva name entered in the Golden Book of Honor of the Kazakh SSR (1982). Over the years, he led Ili geophysical expedition, «Kazgeophysics», and «GlavPrikaspiyGeologiya» companies.


Stage V. By now Geophysics Department of accumulated some experience of teaching students, having its own traditions, defined requirements and criteria to the preparation of geophysicists. For almost sixty-years history existence the department prepared and graduated more than 1800 geophysicists engineers. Being the flagship of Geophysical education in Kazakhstan, Department is constantly working on expanding and the development of relationships with the scientific and industrial organizations. 
In 2001, the University has received a license to train engineers on the specialty 180540 – «Seismology». The opening of new specialty was dictated by the fact that large areas of Kazakhstan, including areas with developed infrastructure located in areas influence of earthquakes. Geophysics Department has prepared two graduates of seismologists engineers, who work in the seismological institutions in Kazakhstan.


In recent years, was replaced existing basic forms of training an engineering specialist levels with a 5-year courses the mass training of bachelors with 4-year study. Changed the educational and thematic plans of educational process, reduced the duration of the special courses (to one semester). The real graduation geophysicists in recent years averaging 25-30 specialist in the year.


Goals and objectives
"Geophysics" Department conducting educational activities by specialties: baccalaureate 5В070600 – «Geology and exploration of mineral deposit» and master 6М074700 – «Geophysical methods of prospecting and exploration of mineral deposits». 


Both specialties have been accredited by Independent Kazakhstan Agency for quality assurance in education» and the German Agency specialized in the technology, informatics, natural sciences and mathematics domains (ASIIN).


The main purpose of the Geophysics Department is prepare students, masters and doctoral students to professional activity to solve practical problems relating to prospecting and exploration of minerals, fundamental studies of the Earth's crust, and in-depth research of the theoretical foundations of geophysical methods, study of processing principles of geophysical field data and their geological interpretation, integration of geophysical methods in solving geological and geophysical problems. 


Achieving this goal is provided by solving the following tasks:
-    Multi -aspect training of students, undergraduates and doctoral students over modular program of oil and gas and ore geophysics, including processing and interpretation of geological and geophysical data;
-    The integration of scientific, educational and innovation activities deepening with domestic (Dunk, SPC "Geoken", etc.) and foreign (Datamine, Phoenix Geophysics - Canada, Geosoft, PGS - United Kingdom, CGG Veritas -France, Paradigm - Netherlands, Innovation Resource - Russian Federation), companies for preparation of competitive specialists, needed in the labor market.
-    Expansion of scientific and technical cooperation with leading international and domestic research and educational centers, state institutions (Universities of Montana Tech - USA, Miskolc - Hungary, Institute of Geological Sciences named after K. Satpayev, Institute of Seismology, Space Research Institute, Institute of Geophysical Research, Institute of Ionosphere, etc.).
-    Acquisition by students, undergraduates and doctoral skill of set and solve scientific and practical tasks, performance experience of scientific-research projects, overlearning of work skills in modern software.

 

Mission and Strategy
Mission of Geophysics Department – implementation of educational, scientific research and innovation activities based on incorporation, coordination and concentration its scientific potential, aimed at solving multiprofile problems on priority scientific and application  directions of ore and petroleum geophysics.


The strategic objectives of Geophysics department:
а) reduction and elimination of the gap between theoretical training of students, masters and doctoral students and the use of practical skills acquired knowledge in the activity; 
b) bringing according to the realities and requirements of manufacturing the level of training specialists; 
c) scientific research, search for innovative solutions and consulting, 
d) development of advanced research, scientific and technical, industrial and innovative projects and programs.


For these strategic objectives achievement planned: 
•    Involvement advanced experience of domestic and foreign companies, universities and institutes in integrated solutions actual problems of education, science and innovation.
•    Promotion of High Tech technologies in education, fundamental and applied domaims in prospecting and exploration of mineral deposits.
•    Inclusion results to scientific and practical research in education; integration of educational programs with the real production.
•    Improving mechanisms of system monitoring of knowledge. 
•    Involvement of employers to participate in the commissions for the protection of student's diplomas and masters dissertations. Conducting monitoring of graduates career based on employers' information.
•    Providing training and courses for improvement qualification by modular programs of geology and geophysics for specialists of ore and oil industries with the use of modern software and with mandatory issuance of certificates.


The teaching staff of Geophysics Department has extensive experience in conducting fundamental and applied research for solid minerals and hydrocarbons deposits; in areas of seismology, processing, interpretation and modeling of seismic data, geophysical potential fields, well logging (open hole), in a comprehensive analysis of geological, geophysical and production data on the areas and fields to solve practical problems of exploration and geodynamic monitoring.


Also the teaching staff of Geophysics Department has experience in designing and resource evaluation of hydrocarbon reserves, in the author's supervision, auditing and monitoring of exploration, in preparation of integrated programs for geodynamic subsurface monitoring etc.


During its activities teaching staff of Department propagandize the results of scientific and innovative research through the publication of their results in rating national and international issues; testing at conferences, symposiums, forums and other events.


Teaching staff of Department participates in organization of events (conferences, forums, etc.) on actual domains of Geophysics, including supervises the activities of the student community of engineers - geophysicists (SEG) and organizes annual student conferences through this community.


At the Department of Geophysics have been created Kazakh-Canadian Education and Research Center and CGG training center (French company); provisions about the activities and development program of Kazakh-Canadian Education and Research Center were developed.


Among other activities of Geophysics Department of recently are: a) contacts with the St. Petersburg Polytechnic University on the opportunity of carrying out joint geological and geophysical studies on the Caspian Sea shelf;  b) proposal creation on cooperation ways with the American Geological Institute; c) planning of joint subjects  KazNRTU, Phoenix company, Institute of Geological Sciences and the Institute of Seismology to study deep seismically active faults and geodynamics of the lithosphere.


For lectures and seminars as part of the educational program of masters and bachelors, to Geophysics Department are invited foreign lecturers. Since 2011-2016 were invited lecturers from Moscow State University named after M.Lomonosov, Tomsk Polytechnic Institute. Every year students, undergeaduates and staff of Geophysics Department participate in international conferences and seminars in Kazakhstan and abroad, winning prizes, diplomas, certificates and publishing in journals with impact factor, undergo training in Russian, Western and Eastern Europe universities.


Geophysical companies "Dank" and "Date Invest" established three monthly scholarships for students senior courses (3-4 courses) of geophysical specialty in order to stimulate educational activity and perpetuate the memory of a great scientist, professor of geophysics Akisheva T. and the first dean of the Faculty of Geophysics Professor Karimov M.G.


Currently, at Geophysics Department actively being prepared technical documentation for opening a doctorate on specialization 6D074700 - «Geophysical methods of prospecting and exploration of mineral deposits»; doctorate and magistrature on specializations 6D075600 and 6M075600 - «Seismology».
 

Наверх

О кафедре

История
В деятельности кафедры «Геофизические методы поисков и разведки месторождений полезных ископаемых (МПИ)» обособляются пять основных этапов: первый – предыстория; второй – становление; третий – бурное развитие; четвертый – кризисный период; пятый - современный. 

 

Начинается с организации Казахского горно-металлургического института (КазГМИ) в 1934 г., вначале состоявшего из одного геологоразведочного факультета, объединявшего специальности: «Разведка рудных и нерудных месторождений» и «Инженерная гидрогеология».  
Значительные успехи геофизических методов в геологоразведочных работах потребовали подготовки квалифицированных специалистов в области разведочной геофизики. Кадры, выпускаемые в те годы московскими и ленинградскими ВУЗами, не удовлетворяли быстро растущую геофизическую отрасль Казахстана.   Сложившаяся ситуация к концу 40-х годов диктовала необходимость подготовки собственных квалифицированных инженеров-геофизиков.

 

В 1951 г. для организации кафедры «Геофизические методов поисков и разведки МПИ» из Днепропетровского горного института был приглашен к.г.-м.н, доцент Непомнящих А.А., специалист в области разведочной геофизики, имевший большой опыт педагогической работы в высшей школе. Им было подготовлено большое число специалистов по разведочной геофизике, в том числе кандидатов наук из числа казахстанской молодежи, некоторые из них впоследствии стали докторами наук. 
Большое внимание в те годы уделялось физико-математическим дисциплинам, чему в большой степени способствовала помощь кафедр высшей математики (доцент Горшин С.И.) и физики (профессор Гульницкий Л.В.). 

 

В первые годы становления кафедры «Геофизические методов поисков и разведки МПИ» были приглашены известные специалисты из разных регионов СССР для заведования лабораторий: доцент Нетунахин В.И. - электроразведочной, доцент Масарский С.И. – сейсморазведочной, доцент Бородулин Б.Г. – магниторазведочной, ст.преподаватель Антонов Г.В. - гравиразведочной. С 1961 г был введен специальный курс программирования (преподаватель Коваль Л.А.).
В 1960 году для ведения курса «Сейсморазведка» был приглашен Цветков Д.В. - опытный специалист, один из разработчиков первых полевых сейсмических станций и организатор сейсморазведочных работ на территории бывшего СССР.
Неоценимую помощь в деле оснащения лабораторий специальной аппаратурой и оборудованием (в т.ч. сейсмическими станциями) оказали кафедре Казахский геофизический трест, Гурьевская геофизическая контора и другие производственные организации.
Одновременно с созданием материально-технической базы кафедры разрабатывались лекционные курсы, методическое обеспечение лабораторных и практических работ, курсового и дипломного проектирования. 

 

Первый выпуск инженеров-геофизиков состоялся в 1954 году в количестве 41 специалиста, которые зарекомендовали себя на производстве с самой лучшей стороны. 
К концу 50-х годов кафедра Геофизики полностью сформировалась как одна из ведущих в бывшем Советском Союзе по подготовке геофизических кадров. Высокие требования к студентам-геофизикам в процессе всего периода обучения на кафедре позволили им стать грамотными производственниками и организаторами геофизической службы Казахстана.

 

В 1960 году КазГМИ был реорганизован в Казахский политехнический институт (КазПТИ). С этого времени начинается этап качественного и количественного роста кафедры Геофизики, которая готовила квалифицированных инженеров-геофизиков высшей квалификации. 

 

К 1966 г. на кафедре Геофизики работало 16 научных сотрудников, из которых один профессор-доктор наук, восемь доцентов и кандидатов наук, четыре старших преподавателя и три ассистента, действовало 7 лабораторий и один кабинет.        

 

В 1966 году в связи с расширением подготовки геофизических кадров в Казахстане на базе геофизической кафедры организован геофизический факультет. Его первым деканом был назначен ученый-физик М.Г.Каримов, который много сделал для становления и успешного развития нового факультета в составе КазПТИ. 

 

В 1976 году геофизический факультет и кафедра Геофизики снова вошли в состав геологоразведочного факультета.
В эти годы число ежегодных выпускников кафедры достигло 60-70 человек. Они успешно вписались в производственные геофизические организации; многие из них впоследствии стали руководителями и ответственными работниками производства, возглавили научно-исследовательские и проектные организации, участвовали в открытии крупных месторождений углеводородов и твердых полезных ископаемых в Казахстане.


Развал СССР и последовавший за ним экономический хаос, ограниченность выделяемых государством на науку и образования средств привели к потере четких планов распределения выпускников, снизились возможности приобретения оборудования, содержания обслуживающего персонала и преподавателей и т.д. 
Несмотря на определенные трудности в жизни общества, обучение в Университете началось вестись на казахском и русским языках. Кадровый состав кафедры продолжал укрепляться, были приглашены известные ученые и организаторы производства. 


Среди них, доктор геолого-минералогических наук, профессор Токиш (Толепберген) Акишев - талантливый организатор геофизической службы Казахстана, лауреат Государственной премии СССР (1985), возглавивший кафедру с 1992 года до конца своей жизни. Имя Т.Акишева занесено в Золотую книгу Почета КазССР (1982). В разные годы он возгалавлял Илийскую геофизическую экспедицию, ПГО «Казгеофизика», ГТУ «Главприкаспийгеология».


К настоящему времени кафедра Геофизики накопила определенный опыт обучения студентов, возникли свои традиции, определились требования и критерии к подготовке геофизиков. За почти шестидесятилетнюю историю существования кафедры подготовлено и выпущено свыше 1800 инженеров-геофизиков. Являясь флагманом геофизического образования в Казахстане, кафедра постоянно работает над расширением и развитием связей с научными и производственными организациями. 


В 2001 году Университет получил лицензию на подготовку инженерных кадров по специальности 180540 – «Сейсмология». Открытие новой специальности было продиктовано тем, что крупные территории Казахстана, в т.ч. районы с развитой инфраструктурой находятся в зонах воздействию землетрясений. Кафедра Геофизики подготовила два выпуска инженеров-сейсмологов, которые трудятся в сейсмологических учреждениях Казахстана.


В последние годы произошла замена существующей основной формы подготовки специалистов инженерного уровня с 5-летним сроком обучения на массовую подготовку бакалавров с 4-летним сроком обучения. Изменились учебный и тематический планы учебного процесса, сократились продолжительность специальных курсов (до одного семестра). Реальный выпуск геофизиков за последние годы составляет в среднем 25-30 специалистов в год.


Цели и задачи.
Кафедра «Геофизика» проводит образовательную деятельность по специальностям: бакалавриат 5В070600 – «Геология и разведка МПИ» и магистратура 6М074700 – «Геофизические методы поисков и разведки МПИ». 


Обе специальности прошли аккредитацию Независимым казахстанским агентством по обеспечению качества в образовании» (НКАОКО) и Немецким   агентством, специализированному в области техники, информатики, естественных наук и математики (ASIIN).


Основной целью кафедры Геофизики является подготовка студентов, магистрантов и докторантов к профессиональной деятельности для решения практических задач, связанных с поисками и разведкой полезных ископаемых, фундаментальными исследованиями земной коры, а также глубокое изучение теоретических основ геофизических методов, изучение принципов обработки полевых геофизических данных и их геологической интерпретации, комплексирование геофизических методов при решении геолого-геофизических задач. 


Достижение поставленной цели обеспечивается за счет решения следующих задач:
- Мультиаспектная подготовка студентов, магистрантов и докторантов по модульным программам нефтегазовой и рудной геофизики, в т.ч. по обработке и интерпретации геолого-геофизических данных;
- Углубление интеграция научной, образовательной и инновационной деятельности с отечественными (Данк, НПЦ «Геокен» и т.п.) и зарубежными (Datamine, Phoenix Geophysics -Канада, Geosoft, PGS – Великобритания, CGG Veritas -Франция, Paradigm – Нидерланды, ООО Инновационный Ресурс - Российская Федерация) компаниями для подготовки конкурентоспособных специалистов, востребованных на рынке труда.
- Расширение научно-технического сотрудничества с ведущими мировыми и отечественными научно-исследовательскими и образовательными центрами, государственными институтами (Университеты Montana Tech – CША, Мишкольца - Венгрия, Институт Геологических наук им К.И.Сатпаева, Институт Сейсмологии, Институт космических исследований МОИН РК, Институт Геофизических Исследований, Институт Ионосферы и т.п.).
- Приобретение студентами, магистрантами и докторантами навыков ставить и решать научные и практические задачи, опыта выполнения научно-исследовательских проектов, приобретение навыков выполнения работ в современных программных средствах.


Миссия и стратегия
Миссия кафедры Геофизики – осуществление образовательной, научно-исследовательской и инновационной деятельности на базе объединения, координации и концентрации усилий её научного потенциала, направленного на решение мультипрофильных задач по приоритетным научным и прикладным направлениям рудной и нефтегазовой геофизики. 


Стратегическими задачами кафедры Геофизики являются:
а) сокращение и ликвидация разрыва между теоретической подготовкой студентов, магистрантов и докторантов и практическими навыками использования полученных знаний на производстве; 
б) приведение в соответствии к реалиям и требованиям производства уровня подготовки специалистов; 
в) научные исследования, поиск инновационных решений и консалтинг, 
г) разработка перспективных научных, научно-технических, производственных и инновационных проектов и программ.


Для достижения этих стратегических задач планируется:
•    Привлечение передового опыта отечественных и зарубежных компаний, университетов и институтов в области интегрированных решений актуальных задач образования, науки и инноваций.
•    Продвижение технологий High Tech в образовательных, фундаментальных и прикладных направлениях при поисках и разведке месторождений полезных ископаемых.
•    Включение результатов научно-практических исследований в обучение; интегрирование образовательных программ с реальным производством.
•    Усовершенствование механизмов системного мониторинга знаний и компетенций обучающихся с учетом требований, ожиданий и удовлетворенности потребителей образовательных услуг;
•    Привлечение работодателей к участию в составе комиссий по защите дипломов студентов и диссертаций магистрантов. Ведение мониторинга карьеры выпускников на основании сведений работодателей.
•    Проведение тренингов и курсов по повышению квалификаций по модульным программам геологии и геофизики для специалистов рудной и нефтяной индустрий с использованием современного программного обеспечения и с обязательной выдачей сертификатов.


Профессорско-преподавательский состав (ППС) кафедры Геофизики обладает большим опытом проведения фундаментальных и прикладных исследований по месторождениям твердых полезных ископаемых и углеводородов; в областях сейсмологии, обработки, интерпретации и моделированиия данных сейсморазведки, геофизических потенциальных полей, каротажа (открытый ствол), в комплексном анализе  геолого-геофизических и промысловых данных по площадям и месторождениям при решении практических задач геологоразведки и геодинамического мониторинга.


ППС  кафедры Геофизики также имеет опыт проектирования и оценки ресурсов и запасов углеводородов, а авторском надзоре, аудите и мониторинге геологоразведочных работ, в составление комплексных программ по проведению геодинамического мониторинга недр и т.п. 


В процессе своей деятельности ППС кафедры пропагандирует результаты научных и инновационных исследований посредством публикации их результатов в рейтинговых республиканских и международных изданиях; апробации на конференциях, симпозиумах, форумах и других мероприятиях.


ППС Кафедры принимает участие в организации мероприятий (конференций, форумов и т.п.) по актуальным направлениям геофизики, в т.ч. курирует деятельность студенческого сообщества инженеров – геофизиков (SEG) и организует ежегодные студенческие конференции по линии этого сообщества.


При кафедре Геофизики были созданы Казахско-Канадский научно-образовательный центр и центр подготовки CGG (Французская компания). Разработаны Положения о деятельности и Программа развития Казахско-Канадского научно-образовательного центра.


Среди других направлений деятельности кафедры Геофизики  за последнее время можно выделить: а) контакты с Са́нкт-Петербу́ргским политехни́ческим университетом по возможности проведения совместных геолого-геофизических исследований по шельфе Каспийского моря; б) разработка предложений по направлениям сотрудничества с Американским Геологическим Институтом; ) планирование совместной тематики (НИР) КазНИТУ, компании Phoenix, Институт Геологических Наук и Институт Сейсмологии по изучению глубинных сейсмоактивных разломов и геодинамике литосферы.


Для проведения лекций и семинаров в рамках образовательной программы магистрантов и бакалавров, на кафедру «Геофизики» приглашаются иностранные преподаватели. В период с 2011-2016 гг. были приглашены преподаватели из МГУ им. Ломаносова, Томского политехнического института. Ежегодно студенты, магистранты и сотрудники кафедры «Геофизика» принимают участие в международных конференциях и семинарах в Казахстане и за рубежом, завоевывая призовые места, дипломы сертификаты и публикуясь в журналах с импакт-фактором, стажируются в университетах Российской Федерации и Западной и Восточной Европы.


С целью стимулирования учебной деятельности студентов старших курсов (3-4 курсы) геофизической специальности и увековечивания памяти крупного ученого-геофизика профессора Акишева Т. и первого декана геофизического факультета профессора Каримова М.Г., геофизические компании «Данк» и «Дата Инвест» учредили по три ежемесячных стипендии для студентов.


В настоящее время на кафедре Геофизики активно ведется подготовка технической документации для открытия докторантуры по специальности 6D074700 - «Геофизические методы поисков и разведки МПИ» и докторантура и магистратура по специальности 6M075600 «Сейсмология».

Наверх